REGISTER   |   Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Your Cart   |   Sign In
Community Search
Das Lakshan
Tell a Friend About This EventTell a Friend

Das Lakshan is the festival of the Ten Virtues. Das Lakshan focuses on the ten Dharmas, as described in Tattvarth Sutra. In North America, there are 18 days of celebration, in which the first eight days are Paruyshan Parv celebration and the next ten days are Das Lakshan (Festival of the Ten Virtues) celebration. After the celebrations, Jains ask for forgiveness for any intended or unintended wrong actions, words or thoughts they may have taken.

9/10/2013 to 9/18/2013
When: 9/10/2013

« Go to Upcoming Event List  

Das Lakshan, as explained in Yogendra Jain's Jain Way of Life can be explained with an understanding of two common viewpoints: Vyahar (external view) and Nischay (internal view). All of the ten Dharmas have the prefix "Uttam" attached to them to signify that they are practiced at the highest level by Jain monks.

The Ten Dharmas are:

  1. Uttam Kshama (Forgiveness)
  2. Uttam Mardav (Modesty/Humility)
  3. Uttam Aarjav (Straightforwardness)
  4. Uttam Shauch (Contentment)
  5. Uttam Satya (Truth)
  6. Uttam Sanyam (Self-Restraint)
  7. Uttam Tap (Penance)
  8. Uttam Tyäg (Renunciation)
  9. Uttam Äkinchanya (Non-attachment)
  10. Uttam Brahmcharya (Supreme Celibacy 


For more resources on Paryushan Parva & Das Lakshan, read this article by Pravin Shah. Want it in a visual way? Review the powerpoint presentation created by Anop Vora. For an in-depth explanation about the meaning of these Jain festivals, read Nirmal Dosi's article on the scriptural meanings. 

Sign In

Latest News